Logo

Indiana Handgun License Application Procedure

Indiana Handgun License Application Procedure

  1. Apply online
  2. Schedule an appointment with Morpho Trust to submit your fingerprints electronically to the Indiana State Police. You can click the link provided after you submit your application online.
  3. Fingerprint fee and State fee online to Morpho Trust.                               
  4. Come to the Merrillville Police Department on Wednesdays from 1:00 PM – 3:00 PM  to complete the application process.
  • Fingerprint fee is $9.95 and State fee is on the table below 
  • If you are unable to pay online you may pay your fingerprint fee and State fee with 1 money order payable to Morpho Trust.  Take the money order with you to the Packaging Store.
  • You may apply no more than 180 days (6 months) before your current permit expires.
  • Once submitted online you have 30 days to visit Merrillville Police Department to complete the application process.

When you come to the Merrillville Police Department on Wednesdays from 1:00 PM – 3:00 PM to complete your application (except holidays). Please bring the following:

  • Application number from your online application

  • Receipt from Morpho Trust for fingerprints and State fee
  • Local fee (cash only)

  • Your Indiana driver’s license or picture ID with your current address

  • Your current permit, if applicable 

License Type

Local Fee

Cash payable to

Merrillville Police Dept.

State Fee

Payable to

L-1 Solutions

Four Year Hunting & Target

$10.

*Refundable $5.

$5.

Four Year Personal Protection

$10.

*Refundable $5.

$30.

Lifetime Hunting & Target/ No Current License

$50.

*Refundable $30

$25.

Lifetime Hunting & Target/ Current Valid License

$40.

*Refundable $30

$20.

Lifetime Personal Protection/ No Current License

$50.

*Refundable $30

$75.

Lifetime Personal Protection/ Current License

$40.

*Refundable $30

$60.

Retired Law Enforcement Officer

Not Provided in Law

Fee Exempt

Retired Corrections

Officer

Not Provided in Law

Fee Exempt

Firearms Dealer /Current Dealers License

Not Provided in Law

Fee Exempt

 

*A Portion of the local fee is refundable if a license is not issued. The entire state fee is refundable if no license is issued.

Things to remember:

An Indiana handgun license is not recognized by most other states and may not allow you to legally carry a handgun outside the State of Indiana. You should always check with local authorities before transporting a handgun across state lines.

If you are ever stopped or approached by the police and you are carrying a handgun, advise the officer and show him/her your license to carry the handgun.

Firearms FAQ

Handgun License Application